A Review of Mexican and American Teams’ Final Matches in Concacaf Champions League

ETonight Len will mediate against Los Angeles Football Club in the first final of the Concacaf Champions League. This will be the fifth time that Mexican and American teams meet in the final of the most important club tournament in the region. Here’s a review of the background.

1997: Cruz Azul 5 – 3 Los Angeles Galaxy

At that time the tournament was called the “Concacaf Champions Cup” and it was held in summer in a single venue, which in this case was the Robert F. Kenedy Stadium in Washington DC, with single-game series.

The LA Galaxy reached the final after beating Luis Angel Filipo of El Salvador 2-0 in the quarterfinals, before beating DC United 1-0 in the semifinals.

For its part, Curz Azul eliminated Comunicaciones de El Salvador 5-0 in the quarterfinals and Chivas in the semifinals 3-2.

The final was a 5-3 victory for La Mquina over the American team, with two goals from the legendary Carlos Hermosillo for his club’s fifth title in this championship.

2010-11: Monterrey 3 – 2 Real Salt Lake

Already with the tournament being called the “Concacaf Champions League” and with a group stage before the knockout rounds, the two finalists finished first in their respective groups.

Reak Salt Lake reached the final after eliminating Columbus Crew (also from the United States) in the quarterfinals 4-1 on aggregate and Saprissa of Costa Rica in the semifinals 3-2.

Monterrey, for its part, eliminated two other Mexican teams, beating Toluca 2-0 on aggregate in the quarterfinals and Cruz Azul 3-2 in the semifinals.

In the final series, after the 2-2 tie in Mexican territory, everything was decided in Utah, with a goal by Humberto Suazo for the Rayados to win the title of confederation champion for the first time.

2020: Tigers 2 – 1 LAFC

The format of the tournament changed again for this occasion, already with the form of dispute that is maintained to this day. However, it ended up being defined by single-match series due to the pandemic.

LAFC arrived after eliminating León 3-2 in the round of 16, Cruz Azul 2-1 in the quarterfinals and Amrica 3-1 in the semifinals.

For its part, Tigres left Alianza from El Salvador 5-4 in the round of 16, New York City 5-0 in the quarterfinals and Olimpia from Honduras 3-0 in the semifinals.

Already in the definition of the tournament, the American team began winning, but as a regal team they managed to turn the tables with goals from Hugo Ayala and André-Pierre Gignac, winning their first international title.

2022: Seattle Sounders 5 – 2 Pumas

The last final in which teams from both countries have met so far and the one that ended the 16-year-old hegemon of Mexican soccer in the championship.

Pumas began by eliminating Saprissa of Costa Rica 6-3 on aggregate, then defeated New England Revolution 4-3 on penalties after drawing a three-goal tie on aggregate and finally beat Cruz Azul. in the semifinals 2-1.

Seattle, for its part, eliminated Motagua from Honduras 5-0 in the round of 16, Len 4-1 in the quarterfinals, and New York City 4-2 in the semifinals.

The final series began with a 2-2 tie at the Estadio Olimpico Universitario, so everything would be defined at Lumen Field, where Seattle was clearly superior and beat Pumas 3-0, thus winning their first Concachampions title.