archyworldys

Altuve and Maldonado get surprising out [VIDEO]Seventh Inning

Editorial Seventh entry

Houston / 04.07.2022 11:31:33

An unexpected move at an unexpected time…that was how the Houston Astros they put out a rival batter who had hit but was put out at first on the same play.

the puerto rican Martin Maldonadocatcher for the Texans, was the intellectual author of the play in which with Jose Altuve they threw out Taylor Ward, who had singled to right field but never realized the catcher was behind him to catch him.

With two out and the bases empty in the top of the 5th, Taylor Ward he hit a single to right field to the Dominican Framber Valdez. After playing the first — and with the Cuban initialist Yuli Gurriel in front of him and away from the base — Ward did what anyone would have done: doubled off the bag and took a few steps toward second base, while the Venezuelan Jose Altuve received the throw from the right fielder Kyle Tucker.

But he never realized that Maldonado was behind him asking for the ball. One that Altuve he threw to the catcher and it touched the runner, the umpire called safe. The play was reviewed and Taylor was seen to be off the bag when he was tagged.

“I think we had an opportunity at the beginning of the season with Javy Báez (in a similar situation) and we didn’t. I’m excited. Even I myself was the one who asked for the replay,” Maldonado told MLB.com’s Edwin Pérez after the game. “Joseph (Altuve) always see me I think it’s one more play for a right-handed hitter, where Yuli is further from the base. Runners always make a big turn. I hid him well there.”

Trending