The text foresees that the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) will publish each week a map showing the situation within the member countries with a color code (green, yellow and red), like a traffic light that marks the risk.

The zones will have one color or another depending on the infections per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days. A fourth color, gray, will be provided for areas where there is not enough data or not enough tests are performed.

Travelers coming from an orange, red or gray zone may have to respect a quarantine or a mandatory test when arriving in another country. There will be travelers who perform functions considered essential, who will be exempt from quarantine.

A country that envisages restrictions on travelers coming from a risk zone will have to inform the Member State in question 48 hours before the start of the restrictions and citizens will also have to be warned 24 hours before.

A single European form will also be created that all travelers will have to fill out.

tourism map.jpg

The traffic light will mark the restrictions to move within the EU.


However, the Member States did not reach an agreement on the measures to be taken on travelers coming from areas considered at risk.

Luxembourg’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, Jean Asselborn, whose country abstained in the vote, considered that the text should be “completed and thoroughly revised”, adding other criteria such as the number of diagnostic tests carried out, the situation of the hospitals or the number of deaths.

Specifically, the person in charge considered that his country is “punished” for its policy of mass testing.

Europe so far registers more than 6.5 million cases of covid-19 and 240,000 deaths, and is currently experiencing a major outbreak of the pandemic, which has forced an increase in restrictions in many countries.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.