Cellist Yo-Yo Ma receives Birgit Nilsson Prize

Stockholm/Berlin (MH) – This year’s Birgit Nilsson Prize goes to cellist Yo-Yo Ma. This is the first time an instrumentalist has received this honor, said the President of the Birgit Nilsson Foundation, Susanne Rydén, on Tuesday in Stockholm. The award, which is worth one million US dollars (about 954,200 euros), will be presented to the artist on October 18, 2022 by King Carl XVI of Sweden. Gustaf presented at Konserthuset Stockholm.

Yo-Yo Ma

The American musician has enriched music history with an important chapter, explained Rydén. “In the demanding and fast-moving world of our time, where classical music often does not receive the attention it deserves, Yo-Yo Ma embodies all the artistic qualities that Birgit Nilsson had in mind when establishing the award.” Through his mastery, passion and dedication to music, the cellist helps envision and build a stronger society and a better future. “His support and dedication has always inspired new generations of musicians just starting out in their careers.”

Founded by the Swedish opera singer Birgit Nilsson (1918-2005), the prize is awarded approximately every three years for outstanding achievements and significant contributions in the field of opera or concert to a currently active singer, conductor or institution. Before her death, Nilsson had chosen the first prizewinner – tenor and baritone Plácido Domingo (2009). Since then, an international jury of experts has decided on the award. In 2011 the honor went to the conductor Riccardo Muti, in 2014 to the Vienna Philharmonic and in 2018 to the soprano Nina Stemme.

© MUSIC TODAY. All rights reserved – Information on ➜ Copyright

Read also  Mexican folk art


More on this topic:

Further news