European Union Opens Border for 15 Countries, Indonesia Excludes Pages all

| | – Starting today, Wednesday (1/7/2020), the European Union will open its borders for tourists from 15 countries.

Previously, the European Union council also recommended lifting restrictions on travel to these countries when the external borders were opened.

Information about opening the border was also conveyed by the President of the European Union Council, Charles Michel in his Twitter account, Tuesday (6/30/2020).

So, what are the criteria for the country on the list and which countries are included in it?

“Safe” country criteria

The country’s provisions are based on health criteria, including the number of new cases of corona virus that occurred in the last 14 days.

Launch DW, June 30, 2020, it was stated that the countries in the list must also have a new case trend that declined or was stable in that period.

Countries such as the US, Brazil and Russia are not included in the list of countries released by the European Union.

This decision had caused controversy because the US was not included in the list.

Also read: European Union Border Starts in July 2020

Previously, on Thursday (6/25/2020), quoting Euronews (6/29/2020), there are 54 lists of countries discussed by EU members. However, the final list only contains 15 countries.

The country of residence of tourists, not citizenship, is a determining factor for visiting European Union countries.

Although this policy is not binding, this provision is enough to put pressure on 27 member countries.

If it violates, member countries will risk closing access from other European countries and must reorganize the free trade zone which is the fundamental of economic security.

List of 15 countries

Launch New York Times, 30 June 2020, the European Union opens its borders to the following 15 countries:

  1. Algeria
  2. Australia
  3. Canada
  4. Georgia
  5. Japan
  6. Montenegro
  7. Morocco
  8. New Zealand
  9. Rwanda
  10. Serbia
  11. South Korea
  12. Thailand
  13. Tunisia
  14. Uruguay
  15. China (on the condition of reciprocity, i.e. if China also allows tourists from the European Union)

Also read: European Union: History, Members and Destinations

In addition, the opening was also carried out on 4 small countries (microstates) Europe, namely Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican.

Then, exemptions apply to tourists from countries outside the list, namely for health workers, diplomats, humanitarian workers, transit passengers, asylum seekers, and students.

In addition, it includes passengers who travel for “imperative family reasons” and foreign workers working in Europe.

Periodic review

The list of countries considered “safe” will be reviewed every two weeks to see the latest condition of the corona virus pandemic in its region.

Therefore, you can delete or add countries from the list.

Experts say that this approach is a good way to be the basis for reopening the area where the spread of the virus is still happening.

However, this condition also creates its own problems for airlines that have to change routes and adjust to tourist uncertainty.

Previously, it was known that the European Union had imposed a travel ban since mid-March for the outer border.

The ban is extended to member countries that do not belong to the Schengen area of ​​the European Union such as Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

Also read: Claimed to be Effective in Treating Covid-19 Patients, How Much Does Remdesivir Drug Cost?



Kate Middleton and Wimbledon: tournament canceled, but she … is there! Photo and video

So How Much Is Government Debt To Wika & Waskita Karya?


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.