France Football has chosen an all-time dream team

The Ballon d’Or, the most important individual award in football, has been presented annually since 1956. Only in 2020 did the corona pandemic cause a one-year interruption. The French newspaper France Football However, there was nothing to prevent them from appointing an “all-time dream team”. This was the result of a vote by 140 journalists. We take a look at the legendary elf.

Lev Yashin

Central Press/GettyImages

The legendary Russian keeper Lev Yashin made the race in goal. The “black spider” won the Ballon d’Or in 1963 and was named European Goalkeeper of the Year nine times between 1956 and 1966.

Yashin also has a very special bond with France Football and the Ballon d’Or honor. In 2019 the newspaper unveiled the Yashin Trophy named after him and given to the world’s best goalkeeper. Incidentally, the lucky winner two years ago was Liverpool keeper Alisson.



Brazilian right-back Cafu never won the Ballon d’Or but was definitely one of the best players of all time in his position.

The player’s greatest successes include the two World Cup triumphs in 1994 and 2002. But the South American also collected numerous trophies in club football with AC Milan. Sometimes Cafu won the Champions League with the Rossoneri in 2007.



Of course, there is no getting around the “Kaiser” either. Franz Beckenbauer is still the only defender with two Ballon d’Or wins (1972 and 1976).

Beckenbauer won four championship titles and three European cups with Bayern before he celebrated another title triumph with Hamburg later in his career. In the jersey of the national team, Beckenbauer Germany led to victory at the European Championships in 1972 and the World Cup in 1974.

In addition to the title, it was also his special style of play as an elegant, strong and technically skilled defender that made him unique at the time.

Paolo Maldini

Alessandro Sabattini / GettyImages

Similar to his long-time team mate at AC Milan, Cafu, Maldini was never able to win the Ballon d’Or.

After all, he reached third place in 1994 and 2003, while in 1995 he was shortlisted for FIFA Player of the Year as the first defender.

Maldini won seven Serie A titles and five European cups with Milan. Above all, the left-back and center-back was an absolute long-runner. The Milan legend’s mad career lasted between 1984 and 2009. Hardly any other player has been in the professional business for so long.

Xavi Hernandez

David Ramos/GettyImages

Xavi was certainly a little unlucky that his greatest period ran parallel to that of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. Accordingly, the current Barca coach could never win the Ballon d’Or. After all, he finished third in both 2010 and 2011.

The Spaniard won the Champions League four times and the national championship eight times with FC Barcelona.
With his sensational technique, game intelligence and passing strength, Xavi was formative for the great era of the Catalans.

Lothar Matthaus

Getty Images/GettyImages

No player has played in more world championships than the record German national player, who appeared five times between 1982 and 1998. After the World Cup triumph in 1990, Matthaus was awarded the Ballon d’Or and 12 months later took home the World Player of the Year Award.

Matthäus is considered one of the most complete midfielders of all time, who, in addition to his footballing fortune, was also a tireless fighter.

Diego Maradona

Getty Images/GettyImages

The Argentine football legend, who has unfortunately passed away, is still considered by many people to be the best footballer of all time.
However, the soccer magician never won the Ballon d’Or, which was due to the fact that the trophy was only given to Europeans at prime time.

However, this did not prevent Maradona from becoming an Argentine folk hero in 1986 with the World Cup title and the “Hand of God”.
Although there were always scandals about the attacking midfielder in later years, his footballing brilliance remains almost unmatched to this day. Only compatriot Messi was able to follow in his footsteps.



What Maradona is to the Argentines, Pele is to Brazil. While the offensive player never won the trophy for the same reason as his eternal competitor, it was determined that he would have won the Ballon d’Or seven times when the rule was lifted in 1995.

After all, the Brazilian was also able to win other titles that made his career so unique. Pele was world champion three times and won 26 national and international titles with FC Santos. Even if Pele has never played in Europe, he is undoubtedly one of the greatest players of all time.

Lionel Messi

Alex Caparros/GettyImages

Lionel Messi was able to secure the Ballon d’Or six times. The Argentine is possibly the most gifted and best player of all time and has won the Champions League four times with FC Barcelona.

However, Messi was a bit overshadowed by Maradona for a while because he had never won a major title with Argentina. However, that finally changed in 2021 after Messi led his country to Copa success.

Now we can be curious whether Messi will perhaps even be honored with the Ballon d’Or for the seventh time in a few days.

Cristiano Ronaldo

Laurence Griffiths/GettyImages

Cristiano Ronaldo is the only reason Messi hasn’t won the award ten times yet. The Portuguese, who has just as many Champions League titles, also triumphed five times. In addition, the attacker surprisingly won the European title with Portugal in 2016.

Ronaldo is considered a perfect example of what can be done with hard work. Today’s United player is also terrific in footballing terms, but it was always his unique athleticism and discipline that made him so incredibly strong.


Shaun Botterill/GettyImages

In his prime time, Ronaldo was without a doubt one of the best center-forwards ever. The Brazilian won the Ballon d’Or for the first time in 1997 and repeated this triumph in 2002. In the same year Ronaldo led his country to the World Cup with eight goals.

Weight problems and form crises ensured that the player’s really big time was over a little earlier than planned. Accordingly, he was replaced as the record scorer in the World Cup (15 goals) by Miroslav Klose. Nevertheless, it was enough for a place in the football history books.