The connection on Instagram is usually viewed as the second base in a budding relationship, especially if you started out with one of these online dating apps. However, there are moments when you are unsure if a new person has blocked you or just removed their profile picture and posts. To help you out in these awkward situations, we have put together some methods that you can use to determine if someone has blocked you on Instagram.
Know if someone blocked you on Instagram (2021)
Look for your username
Let’s get the basics out of the way. The The easiest way to find out if someone has blocked you is to search their profile. To check this, go to the Search section and enter your username. If you can’t see their username, chances are (more on that in the next section) they blocked you. Check out the image comparison below for reference.
Check the profile on the Instagram web
Searching by username is not conclusive evidence that the person blocked you. It is possible that the person has decided to deactivate or delete their Instagram account. Hence, this is the time for you to put on your detective glasses and dig deeper. How does that work, you ask? Well, append their name to Instagram’s url and open the url in a browser that you are not signed in to make sure you are not logged into Instagram. If you’re using Instagram through a web browser, you can just open a new incognito tab to check. The url should look like this:
If their profile shows up here and doesn’t appear when you’re logged in, you can be sure that they have blocked you. Even if you have a private Instagram account, you will see it with the text “The account is private”. This is a safe strategy for knowing if the person has an active Instagram account.
If the person has deleted or deactivated their account, they will see a page that says “Sorry, this page is unavailable.” By following this strategy, you can be sure whether the person deleted their account or just banned you. You can also borrow your friend’s phone and look for the person’s name on their Instagram account, but I wouldn’t recommend doing all of the work yourself without leaving a trace.
Check the profile on the Instagram app
If you can access the person’s profile through old comments or through DMs, check the number of posts. If it shows a certain number of posts in the post counter and shows ‘No posts yet’ in the feed, which means they have blocked you. If you are not blocked, you will see all of your posts.
connected : How to Use Facebook Messenger for Your Business
Methods that don’t help
1. Send a message
While Snapchat throws a “Send Failed – Tap to Try Again” error when you try to text someone who has blocked you, Instagram doesn’t. It takes a more subtle approach. The blocked person can still send messages, but none of those messages reach the recipient. I’m sure this must have caused quite a bit of drama for people, but that’s what Instagram offers and it’s good to be aware of.
In case you’re wondering, no that Messages you’ve sent won’t appear even if the person later unlocks you. As you can see below, after the account was unlocked, I did not receive the new messages I sent before. This is an Instagram tip everyone should be aware of, especially when dealing with a person with frequent mood swings.
2. Check your display picture
Unlike WhatsApp, which simply hides the display image, you don’t know if someone has blocked you by checking their display image. Instagram will still show the profile picture even if the person has blocked you. Hence, this is something to keep in mind when trying to find out if the person has blocked you.
Find out if someone restricted you on Instagram
Now that you are all familiar with the basics, it is time to discuss the tricky part – the account restriction, also known as the shadow ban. Instagram recently added the throttling feature to help users silence abusive accounts. While Instagram implemented the feature with the good intent of reducing negative interactions on the platform, some people have started using it as an alternative to blocking a person.
If you are restricted, all of your comments will go through a review system. The other person can view and approve, delete, or ignore the comment. Also, the recipient will not receive any notifications and all of your direct messages will be in the Message Requests section.
There are two ways to know if someone has restricted you. If you can’t see the activity status of the person you’re texting to without turning off activity status, check a mutual friend’s account. Remember, your friend shouldn’t turn off activity status as well. If you can see their activity status on your friend’s account instead of yours, the person has restricted you.
connected : The Right Approach to How You Can Really Be Successful
Another option is to check the comments that you have posted on their profile. If you see the comments on your page and can’t see all or some of the comments from your friend’s account, it is an indication that the person has restricted your account and is selectively approving comments.
frequently asked Questions
Q. How do you know if you’ve been banned on Instagram?
You can search their username to see if the person has blocked you on Instagram.
Q. What if someone blocks you on Instagram?
If someone blocks you, you won’t be able to see the posts they shared on Instagram or see their Instagram stories.
Q. Is it possible to see who blocked you on Instagram?
There is no specific place to see who blocked you. However, you can use methods like searching by username to see if someone is blocking you.
Q. What if someone blocks you on Instagram?
If you’re blocked, you won’t be able to view their history and posts. Your messages will not be delivered to the recipient and you will not be able to video chat with the person.
Q. Why does Instagram have 0 posts but not blocked?
Instagram often shows 0 posts when the other person’s account is private.
Q. Can you request to follow someone on Instagram if they’ve blocked you?
No, you cannot request to follow someone who blocked you on Instagram.
Q. After unblocking, will the person get all of the text I sent during the blocking period?
No, any messages you sent during the lockdown period are gone forever and the person will not receive them.
Q. Can I see someone’s profile after I block them?
You can’t see it in search, but you can access it through old comments or DM. Even then, you won’t see their posts and stories.
Find out if you’ve been blocked on Instagram
These are the working methods to know if someone has blocked you on Instagram. Before you head out, don’t forget to check out our coverage of the new Instagram features to see what the Facebook-owned company has added in the recent past.