archyworldys

How to prevent them from monitoring your activity on WhatsApp

MADRID, 25 Jun. (Portaltic/EP) –

WhatsApp is an application that facilitates communication, although some people end up abusing features such as the last connection time or status update, giving rise to awkward or even harassing situationswhich the company tries to revert with its latest changes.

The messaging app has recently introduced new privacy controls that allow users to adjust them to protect their information in features like last connection, information and profile picture or status.

The company already allows, both on Android and iOS, to manage the privacy level of these four features. Thus, the user can decide that they are open to ‘everyone’in such a way that all users of the ‘app’ will be able to see said information, or to ‘Nobody’preventing it from being fully visible.

In between, there are two more options: on the one hand, ‘My contacts’, which means that only the contacts saved in the phonebook can see the information of the last time the user was contacted, their profile picture, the information section and status updates. For another, ‘My contacts, except…’which excludes certain saved contacts from being able to access such information.

Whichever option is preferred, you can find inside the ‘Settings’in the ‘Privacy’ sectionwhere you just have to go into each feature to set the desired level of privacy.

It is necessary, however, to make a nuance. When the user is connected other users will still be able to see if you are ‘online’ or ‘writing’ a message at the time, a feature that does not have privacy controls.

On the other hand, read receiptsknown as tics azules by turning this color when the receiver has received the message and opened the chat to read it, they also have privacy options

Specifically, in the same Privacy section, within the Settings, it is possible check or uncheck read receipts. The company warns that if they are disabled, other people will not be able to see the blue ticks, but the user himself will not see those of other people either.

With these settings it is possible to avoid situations in which a person insists that we reply to a message because He has seen that we have connected and we have not written to him, or when someone monitor the times we connect to WhatsAppto cite a couple of examples.

Trending