archyworldys

‘I think you appear in this video, is that you?’: Beware of this link sent by Messenger

Social media is a very popular medium for scams and many unsuspecting users are at risk of being swayed by fake messages using the scam method. phishing.

In this context, a mechanism of deception and data theft has become popular again under a message of Messenger: “I think you appear in this video, is that you?”

No, its not me

Via Messenger, it is common to see how some friends or family send you a message of “I think you appear in this video, is that you?” along with a link that redirects you to these supposed images of you.

Of course, it is not a video of yours, but it is an attack of phishingwhere the “hackers” throw a hook (this type of message) to catch a fish (the unsuspecting person who did not know how to recognize the scam).

Once we click on the link, we will be redirected to a false website, from where automatic software will operate to try to steal credentials and all the information that our browser contains. Likewise, it activates a chain of diffusion of our contacts, with messages that will be sent automatically to all of them.

We do not know how to recognize scams

61% of Peruvians do not know what malicious messages or programs that block data are to avoid being victims of cybercriminals, according to a Kaspersky survey.

In these cases, once the user enters the link, there are not many options to protect it, since only blocking the connection between the link and the fake website can stop the attack. Therefore, always never click on suspicious links or links that do not offer more information.

We recommend METADATA, RPP’s technology podcast. News, analysis, reviews, recommendations and everything you need to know about the technological world. To hear it better, #StayHome.

Trending