IFFHS names Lewandowski World Footballer of the Year 2021

Robert Lewandowski was awarded the Golden Player Award 2021 by the Italian sports newspaper “Tuttosport” at the beginning of the week. The IFFHS has now named the 33-year-old striker World Footballer of the Year 2021. The FCB professional has secured this award for the second time in a row.

The International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFHHS) awards individual awards to football professionals every year, including the title of “The World’s Best Player”. As the IFHHS announced on Thursday, Robert Lewandowski has defended his success from the previous year and was also voted IFHHS World Footballer of the Year in 2021.

Lewandowski prevails against Messi, Haaland ends up in the top 10

The 33-year-old attacker prevailed relatively clearly and received a total of 150 points. Lionel Messi is in second place with 105 points. European champion Jorginho is already clearly beaten with 40 points and 3rd place.

With Erling Haaland, another Bundesliga professional has made it into the top 10. The Norwegian finished in 10th place with five points.

From the Polish striker’s point of view, this award is hopefully a positive omen for the Ballon d’Or, which will be presented by France Football on November 29th. According to reports, the Bayern striker, along with Lionel Messi, is one of the top favorites to win the golden ball.

IFFHS “The World’s Best Player 2021” – An overview of the top 10

  • Robert Lewandowski – 150 points
  • Lionel Messi – 105
  • Jorginho – 40
  • Kevin de Bruyne – 35
  • Mohamed Salah – 20
  • Kylian Mbappe – 20
  • Cristiano Ronaldo – 15
  • N’Golo Kante – 10
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma – 10
  • Erling Haaland – 5