| Kozhikode in football | Mangalam

Kochi: Kozhikode emerged champions in the football tournament held at the Maharaja’s Ground, Ernakulam as part of the Kerala Games. Kozhikode won the title by defeating Thrissur in a penalty shootout.
The shootout ended in a goalless draw for both extra time and extra time. When Dilshad, Nabeel and Nandu Krishnan found the target for Kozhikode, Thrissur’s NT Only Basil’s kick reached the net. Akshay Sudheesh and VP When Rajneesh’s kick went out, Rizwan Shaukat’s kick was blocked by Kozhikode’s goalkeeper Ansif. Ansif himself was the player of the match in the final. Malappuram’s Mohammad Angela is the top scorer in the tournament with five goals. Pathanamthitta’s Pranav became the best goalkeeper. Ahmed Swabih, the defender of Thrissur, is the best defender. Thrissur’s EK Harris is the best midfielder. Kozhikode’s Jazeel won the award for the best forward in the tournament. Malappuram beat Kasargod 4-1 to finish third.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.