LA Galaxy, the last MLS club to win the CONCACAF Champions League

CONCACAF today it has a king at the club level. I don’t say it, the facts say it. What if it has been during the almost 60 years of the tournament? champions of the region? No. Today it will be, but before the 16-year reign that Mexico holds today with finalists and champions, teams from other nations were able to provide the necessary competition and even came out with the title in hand. The last was Deportivo Saprissa in 2005, but before them there is also a history for the MLS.

After its appearance in 1996, the MLS made an important appearance in the tournament with a team called the Seattle Sounders. This team was a semifinalist of the tournament and the following year another team now named LA Galaxy appeared. They flew to the final to face Cruz Azul, but luck no longer followed them there and they were thrashed. The push was so strong from the national organization that in their third year they would lift their first title with DC United. It was like a fairy tale.

They knew of the moment they had and they did not want to leave him to the degree that they had semifinalists in five years in a row since their arrival. However, only one more final would win back then and to this day. After leaving Real Spain and DC United behind, the Galaxy would return to a last resort and in 2001 would have as a rival the Honduran club of Olimpia. The first minutes looked like the situation would play against him again, but it all ended up on the opposite side.

Ezra Kendrickson called to cheer on Cobi Jones’ somersault and the lions responded. Everything happened in the first half and the next would be as tense as possible until Kendrickson dressed up as a hero down the stretch and scored the goal that gave them their first international title. Since then, four MLS organizations have returned to a final, but none have been able to win it; the last to try was LAFC but they succumbed to André-Pierre Gignac’s Tigers in 2019.

Who is the maximum winner of Concachampions that is not Mexican?

After a couple of years since the beginning of the CONCACAF Champions League, the 70’s saw different champions from Central America and the Caribbean, with a team from Suriname in Transvaal as two-time champions and groups like Comunicaciones and CD FAS also obtaining the honors. However, outside the Aztec group, the top winner of the tournament is Deportivo Saprissa, which won the 1993, 1995 and 2005 tournaments, and in total has played six finals.