Le Matin – Australia: Sydney FC wins its fourth consecutive Championship

The reigning Australian champion, the Sydney Blues, finished the regular season in the lead for the fourth time in its history. Ph: AFP

Sydney FC finished first in the regular season winning their fourth consecutive Australian Championship on Sunday, a national record, with four days remaining of competition.

Wellington Phoenix, second in the table, drew 1-1 with Adelaide United on Saturday night, leaving Sydney out of the lead with an eleven point lead.

The clubs classified in the first six places will meet from August 22 in a final phase.

The A-League had started in October and was nearing the end of its regular season, when it had to be suspended due to the spread of the novel Coronavirus pandemic.

The resumption of football was particularly complicated because of the considerable distances between Australian cities.

In the end, despite the new confinement in force since July 9 in Melbourne, the season was able to restart with a majority of matches played in New South Wales, Sydney State.


Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.