By Fernando Del Corro

On November 22, 2013, seven years ago today, a young Norwegian model named Sven Magnus Øen Carlsen, aged just 22 years, 11 months and 13 days, was crowned world chess champion by defeating the former ecumenical head of the game-science , the Indian Viswanathan Anand by 6 ½ points to 3 ½ in a match played in Chennal, India, during which he obtained three victories and the other seven games were drawn.

The consecration of Kásparov, the youngest world chess champion in history

Since then he has defended the crown three times. The first of them against Anand himself, winning in 2014 by 6 ½ to 4 ½ (three wins, seven draws and one loss); in 2016 against the Russian Sergei Kariakin, where he had to play a quick tiebreaker for having equaled the initial match 6 to 6 to later win 3 to 1; and in 2018 against the Italian Fabiano Caruana, an opportunity in which he also had to go to a tiebreaker since originally the match had ended 6 to 6, with 12 boards, to later prevail in the fast game by 3 to 0.

Carlsen in 2009.

Carlsen, consecrated as an international grandmaster when he was only thirteen years old, was the second youngest champion in the history of this sport only surpassed by the then Soviet Garry Kimovich Kasparov who was crowned at 22 years, 6 months and 27 days. say when he had a little less than six months than the current Nordic champion.

Since the beginning of the World Championship, French André Philidor have succeeded as champions; the Frenchman Alexandre Deschapelles; the Frenchman Louis de Labourdonnais; the British Howrad Staunton; the German Adolf Anderssen; the American Paul Morphy; the Austro-Hungarian American Wilhelm Steinitz; the German Emanuel Lasker; the Cuban José Raúl Capablanca; the Russian-French Alexandre Alekhine; the Dutch Max Euwe; again Alekhine; the Russian-Soviet Mikhail Botvinnik; the Russian-Soviet Vasili Smyslov; Botvinnik again; the Latvian-Soviet Mikhail Tahl; Botvinnik again; the Armenian-Soviet Tigram Petrosián; the Russian-Soviet French Borislav Spasski; American Robert “Bobby” Fischer; the Russian-Soviet Anatoli Karpov; the Russian-Soviet referred Kasparov; the Russian-Soviet Vladimir Krámnik; the Indian Anand; and Carlsen. As the official list of the FIDE International Federation is counted from Steinitz, Carlsen is officially the sixteenth under the control of that body.

The Nobel Prize in Literature that Borges never received when it went to Neruda and García Márquez

Magnus Carlsen was born in Tonsberg, Norway, on November 30, 1990, making him close to 30 years old. In 2010 he reached the first place in the FIDE rankings. It is about who is the youngest to have exceeded 2800 Elo points when in 2014 he reached 2882, the highest figure of all time, surpassing the 2851 that Kasparov had achieved in 1999. When he obtained first place in 2010 he became in the youngest chess player to achieve it since he was only nineteen years old and one month old. Currently its Elo is 2862 points.

In 2006, in Warsaw.

At the age of eight he played a tournament for the first time under the direction of the Norwegian grandmaster Simen Agdestein. In 2012 he was world runner-up in the under 12 category. Throughout that youth stage he achieved important victories against notable world figures such as the one obtained against today’s former world champion Karpov and tables with Kasparov. He was also trained by the Danish grandmaster Peter Heine Nielsen and had financial backing from the world of computer companies such as Microsoft and Norway’s Artic Securities.

It was in Warsaw, in January 2004, when for the first time he achieved some degree of international knowledge as a consequence of having won Group C of the Corus Tournament after achieving 10.5 points out of 13 possible.

That year he also participated in the qualifying rounds from which the challenger of the world champion emerged; he was the youngest among 128 contenders and was eliminated in the first round. In the 2006 Norwegian Championship he shared first place with Simen Agdestein, the same one who was his mentor. In 2009 and 2010 he was training with Kasparov.

In 2012, when defiant officer was consecrated.

As a child and adolescent, he developed an attacking game with continuous sacrifices and later his ideas led him to concentrate on the middle game. According to Kasparov, over time he developed a positional style that is similar to that of great champions of the past such as Capablanca, Kárpov and Smyslov, but in recent years he resumed a more offensive form when, from 2018, he focused his studies on the AlphaZero system of artificial intelligence. .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.