Manchester City Wins Seventh FA Cup Title, Eyes Triple Crown Achievement

Manchester City became champion of the FA Cup, the oldest tournament in the world, for the seventh time in history – Credits: @afp

This Saturday the FA Cup final was played at the mythical Wembley stadium, in which Manchester City beat its classic rival, 2-1. Manchester United, to get their second title of the season after winning the Premier League. In this way, the citizen team maintains its dream of winning the ‘Triple Crown’ for the first time, a distinction that recognizes the obtaining of the three titles for which the best teams of the Old Continent usually fight throughout a regular season: Champions League (play the final against Inter Milan next Saturday), local league and national cup.

It was the first time that both Mancunian teams met in a definition. The goals of the winning team were converted by captain Ilkay Gündogan, who reached 11 in this 2022-23. The first of them came when just 13 seconds had elapsed and it became the fastest goal in an FA Cup final, in the 154-year history of the tournament (the oldest in the world). The partial draw for the Red Devils came through the Portuguese Bruno Fernandespenalty, at 33 ‘.

The moment in which Ilkay Gündogan becomes part of history: he scored the fastest goalThe moment in which Ilkay Gündogan becomes part of history: he scored the fastest goal

The moment Ilkay Gündogan became part of history: he scored the fastest goal – Credits: @Dave Thompson

Regarding the participation of Argentines, Julian Alvarez did not add minutes in the team led by ‘Pep’ Guardiola; while Alexander Garnacho entered at 61′ instead of danish Christian Eriksen. Maximo Perrone and Lisandro Martinezfor their part, were not summoned for their respective teams: in the case of the midfielder, he is still licensed after playing in the Under 20 World Cup; The defender, meanwhile, is in the middle of the recovery stage due to a broken fifth metatarsal in his right foot.

The champion will surely celebrate this Sunday and on Monday he will put his head in the next and last challenge of the season: the Champions League. On Saturday June 10 they will face Inter Milan at the Atatürk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey. The English cast seeks to raise the ‘Orejona’ for the first time in history, a dream that already eluded him in the 2020-21 edition, when he lost 1-0 with Chelsea in the definition played at the Estádio do Dragão in Porto, in Portugal. The Italian team, meanwhile, seeks the fourth, after the triumphs in 1963-64, 1964-65 and 2009-10.

Julián Álvarez no ingresó  in the final but contributionó  in achieving the title in the seasonJulián Álvarez no ingresó  in the final but contributionó  in achieving the title in the season

Julián Álvarez did not enter the final but contributed to the achievement of the title in the season – Credits: @OLI SCARFF

FA Cup winners table

  1. Arsenal: 14 titles.

  2. Manchester United: 12.

  3. Chelsea, Liverpool and Tottenham: eight each.

  4. Aston Villa and Manchester City: Seven each.

  5. Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle: six each.

  6. EvertonWest Bromwich Albion and Wanderers: five each.

  7. Wolverhampton, Bolton Wanderers and Sheffield United: four each.

  8. Sheffield Wednesday y West Ham: three each.

  9. Preston, Old Etonians, Portsmouth, Sunderland, Nottingham Forest and Bury: two each.

  10. Leicester CityOxford University, Royal Engineers, Derby County, Leeds United, SouthamptonBurnley, Cardiff City, Blackpool, Clapham Rovers, Notts County, Barnsley, Charlton Athletic, Old Carthusians, Blackburn Olympic, Bradford City, Ipswich Town, Coventry City, Wimbledon y Wigan Athletic: uno cada uno.

2023-06-03 16:21:14

#historical #table #Cup #champions #remained #Manchester #City #title