New Komnas HAM Commissioner Expected to Continue Peaceful Dialogue in Papua

TEMPO.CO, Jakarta – The newly elected commissioner of the National Human Rights Commission for the period 2022-2027 must be able to continue the peaceful dialogue in the Land of Papua.

“For example, looking for a way for a peaceful dialogue with Papua, including encouraging how the Paniai case is immediately resolved,” said the Chairperson of the Committee for Candidates for Members of the Indonesian National Human Rights Commission for 2022-2027 Prof Anwar Makarim in Jakarta, Tuesday, October 4, 2022.

Makarim saw that the nine names chosen by Commission III of the DPR were the best of the 14 names proposed by the selection committee during the fit and proper test.

Moreover, for the 2022-2027 period, there will be significant changes, including the representation of 30 percent of women with the election of three female commissioners and the presence of representatives from persons with disabilities.

“In the previous period there were no representatives from disabilities, but now there is a Kurniawan Day,” he said.

According to her, with the presence of representatives from persons with disabilities and the representation of three female commissioners, the new period Komnas HAM can work better and uphold human rights in the country as it should be.

Not only that, from the nine names chosen by Commission III, some of them have a background or have led an important agency, for example Pramono Ubaid Tanthowi who had served in the General Elections Commission (KPU).

Then Abdul Haris Semendawai has also been involved in the Witness and Victim Protection Agency (LPSK), precisely as chairman, and Anis Hidayah who is a women’s activist and highly dedicated to human rights issues and Indonesian migrant workers abroad.

With this sufficient background capital, Makarim believes that the Commissioner of Komnas HAM 2022-2027 can make the organization more alive based on previous experiences.

Today the House of Representatives held a plenary meeting with one of the agendas being the approval of 9 names of candidates for Komnas HAM members who had been selected by Commission III. The nine names chosen were Atnike Nova Sigiro, Abdul Haris Semendawai, Anis Hidayah, Hari Kurniawan, Prabianto Mukti Wibowo, Pramono Ubaid Tanthowi, Putu Elvina, Saurlin P. Siagian, and Uli Parulian Sihombing.

Also read: Today’s DPR Plenary Meeting Will Approve 9 Candidates for Komnas HAM Members