This Nigeria-France will feed the chronicle. Not necessarily for its overall level of play but for the decision of the referee of the match, the Honduran Melissa Borjas, taken in the 76th minute of play. After giving a penalty to France for foul on Viviane Asseyi, missed by Wendie Renard, the referee had the penalty kicked out because of the Nigerian goalkeeper's position in front of her line when the Lyon player struck. A decision made with the help of the VAR, like the original penalty elsewhere.
Decision in accordance with the Regulation
A decision deemed extremely harsh by many observers but in compliance with the FIFA regulations. Before this World Cup, the Board had updated its rules on 1st last June. He allowed the goalkeeper to have only one foot on his line at the time of the shot, against the two until then. Nnadozie, the Nigerian door had no more feet on the line before the shot from Renard … Logic then.
In the first round, such a fact has already happened, this is not the first time the referee has asked to withdraw a penalty for a foul of the goalkeeper! The Jamaican goalkeeper had stopped the Italian penalty, but had to be pulled out too.
– This is not the first time the referee has asked to withdraw a penalty for a foul of the goalkeeper!
In Italy-Jamaica, the Jamaican goalkeeper had stopped the Italian penalty, but it had to be removed! Https: //t.co/w51zNAv4Yn#FIFAWWC#NIGFRA#ITAJAM
– TF1 (@ TF1) June 17, 2019
New FIFA regulations
On the action she even takes a yellow card to have moved before the whistle of the referee. Here again a consequence of the new regulation. Fifa now forbids goalkeepers to touch poles, the crossbar or the nets, or the posturing between their two poles.
But the problem is that at the time of the second shot of the French, French players return within 16 meters before the shooting of Wendie Renard, again a breach of the rules … without the referee is found in repeat this time.