Oklahoma bans abortion after six weeks – NRK Urix – Foreign news and documentaries

The only exception made in the new law is rape, incest or where the woman’s life is in danger.

The abortion ban will apply as soon as the Republican governor of the state, Kevin Stitt, signs the law.

The penalty for health professionals who perform an illegal abortion can be up to 10 years in prison, as well as fines of up to 100,000 dollars.

Earlier in the day, the House of Representatives in the state passed a ban on abortion after one can catch a heartbeat in the fetus, something experts believe is when the woman is around six weeks on the road, writes Reuters.

Earlier in April, Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt signed a law making it punishable by up to 10 years in prison to perform an abortion. On Thursday, the state assembly passed further restrictions, which now come to his table.

Photo: Sue Ogrocki / AP

Similar to promise in Texas

The Republican-ruled states of Texas and Mississippi have also passed a similar ban on abortion. In Texas, the law passed last year has led to a clear decline in abortions. Many women in the state have traveled to Oklahoma and other states to have abortions. Now worth the opportunity to remove.

Texas also has a ban on all abortions after a fetal heartbeat has been recorded. At this point, many women do not even know they are pregnant. The prohibition applies without exception, also for pregnancies as a result of rape or incest.

The Supreme Court shall decide

The US Supreme Court has allowed Texas’ abortion law to stand until further notice. Mississippi’s law will be up in the Supreme Court later this year. The question is whether the law contravenes the Constitution.

Mississippi law prohibits abortion after the 15th week, even where the pregnancy is a result of incest.

If the law in Mississippi is upheld, it is expected that about half of the states in the United States will restrict or ban self-determined abortion.

READ AND: