Switzerland and Côte d’Ivoire sign three agreements in the area of ​​migration

Bern, November 25, 2021 – Federal Councilor Keller-Sutter signed three agreements in the area of ​​migration on Thursday, November 25, 2021, on the occasion of the official visit of the Interior and Security Minister of the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, Vagondo Diomandé, to Bern. The agreements enable Switzerland and Côte d’Ivoire to intensify their cooperation in managing migration, in particular in combating irregular migration, in the interests of both parties.

The agreements signed by the head of the Federal Department of Justice and Police, Karin Keller-Sutter, on the occasion of the visit of the Ivorian Interior and Security Minister Vagondo Diomandé were approved by the Federal Council on September 17, 2021. In particular, it is a declaration of intent to strengthen cooperation between Switzerland and Côte d’Ivoire in the area of ​​migration.

The Ivory Coast plays an important role in the migration sector in West Africa as a country of origin, transit and destination. In order to help cope with the migration challenges in Côte d’Ivoire and in the region, the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) wants to give the Ivorian authorities greater support in managing migration – also by implementing specific projects on site, for example in the fight against human trafficking .

The number of asylum applications by Ivorian nationals in Switzerland has been low for several years (140 in 2020), but high in other European countries.

Cooperation in the readmission area

The second agreement signed is a Memorandum of Understanding that regulates the procedures for the identification and readmission of Ivorian migrants irregularly staying in Switzerland. It aims to formalize the cooperation with Côte d’Ivoire, which generally works well at the operational level. The aim is to facilitate the practical organization of the return, namely the identification modalities and the issuing of replacement documents. To date, Switzerland has concluded agreements on the area of ​​return with a total of 64 countries.

See also  Near Bayeux. Émile Lange receives the Gold Medal of Remembrance for his 100th birthday

Finally, the third agreement provides for the mutual waiver of visa requirements for holders of a diplomatic or service passport.

Address for queries

Information and communication SEM, [email protected]


Federal Department of Justice and Police


State Secretariat for Migration