Turkish lira falls to a record low

DThe Turkish lira depreciated to an all-time low on Thursday. Up to 7.269 lira had to be paid for one dollar, up to 7.8554 lira for one euro. The pressure on the currency had briefly eased after the local financial crisis in 2018. With the Corona crisis, when investors started to sell riskier assets, it […]

The Turkish lira and bonds continue to decline to low levels

Last updated: Wednesday 13 Ramadan 1441 AH – May 06, 2020 KSA 19:30 – GMT 16:30 Posted on: Wednesday 13 Ramadan 1441 AH – May 06, 2020 KSA 17:13 – GMT 14:13 Source: Arabic.net The Turkish lira fell 1.7% to 7.18 against the US dollar, approaching an all-time low of 7.24 pounds per dollar. The […]

Turkish lira at record low – that’s the impact

Turkish lira banknotes Istanbul In the end, the Turkish central bank gave up resistance. The Turkish money watchers had thrown hundreds of millions of dollars from their own reserves onto the market in recent weeks to support the exchange rate of the lira to the dollar. Money that the state could use elsewhere in times […]

The Turkish lira fell to a record level with the pressure of Corona

Last updated: Monday 11 Ramadan 1441 AH – May 04, 2020 KSA 19:09 – GMT 16:09 Posted on: Monday 11 Ramadan 1441 AH – May 04, 2020 KSA 16:51 – GMT 13:51 Source: Arabic.net The Turkish lira fell 0.6% to 7.05 lira against the US dollar, the weakest level since August 2018, with economic repercussions […]

Turkish central bank cuts interest rates again

Istanbul The Turkish central bank cut its key interest rate for the eighth time in a row. On Wednesday, central bank boss Murat Uysal set the one-week repo rate at 8.75 percent – one percentage point or 100 basis points lower than before. The central bank classifies the risks for the inflation forecast as declining […]

How the escalation in Syria affects the Turkish stock exchange

Istanbul The recent escalation in Syria hits the Turkish markets. After an airstrike allegedly by Syrian regime forces against Turkish units in the province of Idlib with at least 33 Turkish soldiers killed, Turkish share prices are on the decline. In the morning, the Istanbul stock exchange recorded the largest daily loss in seven years. […]