The 2022 MotoGP World Championship will have 21 races

First modification: Last modification:

Paris (AFP)

The 2022 MotoGP World Championship will feature 21 races, up from 18 this year, with two new circuits on the program in Indonesia and Finland.

According to this still provisional calendar, the premier category season will begin on March 6 in Qatar and will end on November 6 at the Ricardo Tormo circuit in Valencia (Spain).

Several tests that could not be held in 2020 and this year due to the covid-19 pandemic return such as Argentina (April 3), Japan (September 25), Thailand (October 2), Australia (October 16) and Malaysia (October 23).

The race in Finland, which should have debuted in this championship initially in 2020 but had been canceled two years in a row by the covid, will be registered again on July 10 at the KymiRing circuit, still waiting to be homologated.

The same for Indonesia, a new appointment originally scheduled for this year but whose debut is now scheduled for March 20 at the Mandalika track.

“All dates and the presence of spectators are subject to the evolution of the pandemic and the approval of the governments involved and local authorities,” say the International Motorcycling Federation (FIM) and Dorna, the championship promoter.

This year only three events have been held outside of Europe. Two races took place at the Losail circuit in Qatar, on March 28 and April 4, and the third was last Sunday in Austin (Texas) for the Grand Prix of the Americas.

– Provisional calendar of the 2022 MotoGP World Championship:

March 6: Qatar (Losail circuit, night race)

20 marzo: Indonesia (Mandalika **)

April 3: Argentina (Termas de Rio Hondo)

10 abril: Américas (Circuit of The Americas, Austin)

April 24: Portugal (Algarve circuit, Portimao)

May 1: Spain (Jerez)

May 15: France (Bugatti Circuit, Le Mans)

29 May: Italy (Mugello)

June 5: Catalonia (Montmeló circuit, Barcelona)

June 19: Germany (Sachsenring)

June 26: Netherlands (Assen)

July 10: Finland (KymiRing **)

August 7: Great Britain (Silverstone)

August 21: Austria (Spielberg)

September 4: San Marino (Misano)

September 18: Aragon (Motorland Aragon)

September 25: Japan (Motegi)

October 2: Thailand (Chang International Circuit, Buriram)

16 octubre: Australia (Philip Island)

October 23: Malaysia (Sepang)

November 6: Valencia (Ricardo Tormo circuit)

(** awaiting approval)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.