The European Union opens borders with 15 countries from July 1 will not be Mexico or the United States – Europe – International

Starting July 1, the European Union will open its external borders, closed since mid-March due to the coronavirus crisis, to fourteen countries considered “safe”.

Member States approved this initial list by qualified majority on Tuesday, which It will be reviewed every two weeks depending on the evolution of the pandemic. Abecé on the authorized countries and the measures that will be evaluated to allow other citizens to travel to Europe.

(Also read: The high cost that Guayaquil paid for immunization)

Which countries were authorized?

The list of authorized countries includes those considered “safe”, that is, Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

China will also be included if it in turn allows European citizens to enter its territory.

In addition to these 15 countries, the EU also opens its borders to residents of Andorra, San Marino, Monaco and the Vatican, four small European states.

(You may be interested in: Covid-19: China approves ‘internal use’ of a vaccine in its Army)

Is Uruguay the only authorized Latin American country?

Yes. The list left out more than 150 countries, including almost all of Latin America which, according to the WHO, is the new global epicenter of the pandemic (accumulates 25 percent of cases globally) and where the contagion curve continues to rise.

Will the citizens of these countries be able to enter any European nation?

No. I adopted it this Tuesday it is just a “recommendation” that encourages EU states to lift restrictions, but residents of the fifteen countries on the list do not have guaranteed entry, since each Member State is competent in border matters and you can decide whether or not to keep the veto.

Nor will it apply in Ireland and Denmark, which have their own rules in the field of borders.

(Also read: Another virus found with ‘pandemic potential’ in China)

Each Member State is competent in border matters and can decide whether or not to maintain the veto

Can the borders with these countries be closed again?

Yes. Travel restrictions for a listed country they may be raised or reintroduced “totally or partially” according to the changes in some of the evaluation of the epidemiological situation.

If the situation in a listed country quickly worsens, a decision will need to be made quickly.

(You may be interested in: The peculiar quarantine with which Venezuela seeks to stop the covid-19)

And when will travel from other countries be allowed?

The list of authorized countries will be updated every two weeks, based on a series of criteria.

For travel restrictions to be lifted The epidemiological situation of each country and containment measures will be taken into account., including physical distance and economic and social considerations.

Regrowth in Beijing

Europe will evaluate the set of measures taken to contain the pandemic to authorize more countries to enter its territory.

Each country must have a situation “similar or less” than the EU in terms of covid-19 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days and a stable or downward trend of infections, also taking into account the previous two weeks.

Likewise aspects such as testing, surveillance, tracing, containment will be analyzed and the treatment of coronavirus cases, as well as the reliability of the information.

(Also read: Effects of possible covid-19 vaccine on volunteers)

Another element to take into account will be reciprocity in opening borders.

No Member State may remove these restrictions for other countries not included in the list. before it is decided in a coordinated way.



Share on facebook
Share on pinterest
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.