The United States removed eight countries from anti-Iranian sanctions


Among those who were able to freely buy Iranian oil were China, Turkey, South Korea and other countries. All of them will be allowed to import a limited amount of Iranian oil for six months.

Photo: Raheb Homavandi / Reuters

The United States made an exception for eight states that are allowed to temporarily buy Iranian oil. This was announced on Monday by US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo after the entry into force of a new package of anti-Iran sanctions, which affected the banking, energy and shipping industries of Iran, reports Reuters.

China, India, Greece, Italy, Taiwan, Japan, Turkey and South Korea got the opportunity to buy Iranian oil freely. Pompeo added that more than 20 countries have already reduced oil exports from Iran, reducing purchases by more than 1 million barrels. in a day.

The US will allow these countries to import a limited amount of Iranian oil for six months, the Financial Times adds.

The “toughest” US sanctions against Iran come into force

November 5, Washington announced the introduction of a new package of sanctions against Iran. The sanctions, which the US Treasury called the toughest ever imposed on Tehran, followed Donald Trump’s decision in May to withdraw from the 2015 nuclear deal with Iran. European countries, China and Russia continue to support the deal, which implies a weakening of sanctions against Tehran in exchange for curtailing its nuclear program.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.