These are the states that have restricted travel within the United States

(CNN) – As covid-19 cases and deaths continue to rise in the United States, local officials are implementing travel restrictions to try to stop the spread of the coronavirus.

Nationally, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention issued a travel notice urging residents of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut to immediately refrain from non-essential travel for 14 days. It is up to those states to implement the measure.

Meanwhile, states across the country, some of which have already issued confinement orders to residents, are now also creating measures to restrict the movement of visitors.

Trump presents “five minute” covid-19 test

These are the states that currently have travel restrictions:


Unless it is to support critical infrastructure or critical personal needs, all travel in the state between communities is prohibited. The restrictions apply to residents, workers and visitors.

Travel-related companies are not required to verify the criteria and will rely on travelers’ assurances that they are eligible to travel.

Those traveling for critical reasons will be subject to automatic quarantine or isolation, except as permitted by Alaska health statutes or mandates.


Travelers entering Delaware from other states for an extended stay will now have to be quarantined for 14 days, according to an order from Governor John Carney.


Florida was the first state to launch a large-scale attempt to impose quarantine on domestic travelers when Governor Ron DeSantis issued a 14-day quarantine order for travelers entering state airports from New York, New Jersey. and Connecticut.

The state has now begun to stop drivers on its borders with Alabama and Georgia.


Governor David Ige asked travelers to postpone their visits to the island for the next 30 days. All arriving residents and visitors will immediately enter a 14-day quarantine upon entering the state.

At a press conference on March 26, Ige said flights to Hawaii fell 87% that week, compared to the same week in 2019.

Travel Alert for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut 4:32


Travelers from Colorado and Louisiana must quarantine when they arrive in Kansas, the Kansas Department of Health and Environment said in a statement. The state has also imposed quarantine requirements on travelers from Florida, Washington, California, New York, New Jersey, and Illinois.


Governor Andy Beshear has issued an executive order requiring anyone who returns to that state to remain in quarantine for 14 days and prohibit travel to other states. Travel exceptions include: trips that require work, those that live on the border and are in need, trips for health care, trips to care for a loved one, and court orders, according to LaTasha Buckner, Beshear’s chief of staff.


Among a series of new actions including limiting meetings to 10 people and ordering the closure of shopping malls, Governor Larry Hogan said access to the BWI Marshall Airport terminal would be restricted and urged residents to use transportation to essential travel only.

“Some people are treating this as a vacation or spring break with parties, cookouts and big gatherings,” said Hogan. “Let me be very clear: if you are involved in this, you are violating state law and you are endangering the lives of your fellow Marylanders.”


With the exception of health workers, public health workers, transportation workers, and designated essential workers, all travelers arriving in Massachusetts have self-quarantine instructions for 14 days. Visitors are instructed not to travel to the state if they have symptoms.

North Dakota

All travelers arriving in North Dakota from international locations and states with widespread coronavirus outbreaks must be quarantined immediately for 14 days, according to the North Dakota Department of Health website. Essential infrastructure workers are exempt.

USA asks citizens to return to the country in the middle of the covid-19 0:23


Governor Kevin Stitt has issued an order requiring travelers from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, California, Louisiana and Washington to undergo a 14-day quarantine.

The order also requires delivery personnel to undergo on-demand screenings at health care facilities and protects health workers from discrimination in housing and child care.

Rhode Island

Governor Gina Raimondo ordered that all out-of-state travelers be detained at the border and told to remain in quarantine for 14 days if they intend to remain in the state. She said the order originally applied only to New York travelers, but was extended to all states because of the infection rate in other areas, mentioning New Jersey, Connecticut and New Hampshire by name.

South Carolina

Travelers from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and the city of New Orleans will be ordered to isolate or quarantine for 14 days or the duration of their trip. The order does not apply to persons employed by airlines who perform or assist with military, medical or emergency service.


Governor Greg Abbott first ordered that people flying to Texas from New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and the city of New Orleans be quarantined for 14 days. He later expanded the order to include anyone who drives from Louisiana to Texas and flies from the cities of Miami, Detroit, Chicago, Atlanta. The states of Washington and California are also included in the order.


Governor Phil Scott announced an order that instructs anyone who enters Vermont from another state to quarantine for 14 days.

“That means going straight to where you are going without intermediate stops,” Scott said at a press conference.


The West Virginia State Police will be monitoring state highways and freeways to enforce Gov. Jim Justice’s executive order requiring citizens of other states to go autoquatratin for 14 days.

The order is aimed at places that have a substantial spread of the virus, and Justice named Louisiana, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Italy, and China.

A county of North Carolina

A North Carolina county is taking extreme measures to prevent the coronavirus from spreading in its community.

As of March 17, only permanent residents with proper identification, including a permanent resident entry permit, can enter Dare County. The county has established checkpoints throughout the county to prevent non-resident visitors and homeowners from entering the summer vacation area.

– CNN’s Raja Razek and Atla Spells contributed to this report.



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts