Toprak Razgatlioglu: Great reception in Istanbul / Superbike World Championship

On Tuesday morning, Toprak Razgatlioglu landed as world champion of the Superbike World Championship 2021 in Istanbul. The 25-year-old Yamaha rider was welcomed like a hero.

It is probably only in these minutes that Toprak Razgatlioglu will realize what will change for him after winning the Superbike World Championship in 2021. When the Yamaha rider landed in Istanbul on Tuesday morning, accompanied by mentor Kenan Soufuoglu and Yamaha race director Andrea Dosoli, he was expected by numerous fans and the media.

“I am really happy. It is an honor to be so welcomed in my country, ”Razgatlioglu told the Anadolu agency. «It was a very difficult season. But we have made our dream come true and we are proud. For the first time in this category a Turk became a champion – and I will work for other titles. I will do my best to get even better. It’s a nice feeling to be back in our country. “

This can only be understood by Kenan Sofuoglu, who, as a five-time supersport world champion, made motorcycle racing known in Turkey.

“So far, Toprak was better known in Indonesia and Italy than in Turkey,” Sofuoglu clarified. After his arrival was broadcast live on television, Razgatlioglu will no longer be able to walk undetected through the Turkish capital in the future.

Red Bull Turkey organized a press conference at which Razgatlioglu then answered questions.

Status of the Superbike World Championship 2021 after 37 of 37 races
Pos driver motorcycle Points
1. Toprak Razgatlioglu Yamaha 564
2. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki 551
3. Scott Redding Ducati 501
4. Andrea Locatelli Yamaha 291
5. Michael Rinaldi Ducati 282
6. Michael vd Mark BMW 262
7. Garrett Gerloff Yamaha 228
8. Alex Lowes Kawasaki 213
9. Axel Bassani Ducati 210
10. Alvaro Bautista Honda 195
11. Tom Sykes BMW 184
12. Chaz Davies Ducati 143
13. Leon Haslam Honda 134
14. About Nozane Yamaha 64
15. Loris Baz Ducati 53
16. Tito Rabat Ducati 53
17. Lucas Mahias Kawasaki 44
18. Eugene Laverty BMW 40
19. Christophe Ponsson Yamaha 36
20. Isaac Vinales Kawasaki 35
21. Leandro Mercado Honda 33
22. Jonas Folger BMW 21
23. Samuel Cavalieri Ducati 16
24. Marvin Fritz Yamaha 6
25. Loris Cresson Kawasaki 3
26. Andrea Mantovani Kawasaki 2
27. Luke Mossey Kawasaki 2