Monday, May 27, 2019
Home News Two Bengals selected for the PFWA All-Rookie team, while Brown's QB receives...

Two Bengals selected for the PFWA All-Rookie team, while Brown’s QB receives the highest award

Free safety from Cincinnati Bengals Jessie Bates, 30, celebrates in the second half of an NFL football game in Cincinnati on Sunday, October 28, 2018, a touchdown against an interception match against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. (AP Photo / Gary Landers)

CINCINNATI (WKRC) – Cleveland Brown's quarterback Baker Mayfield, who set an NFL rookie record with 27 touchdown passes, was voted the 2018 rookie of the year, voted by Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) and two Bengals were selected for the All-rookie team.

First choice pick Billy Price was the midway selection and second choice Jessie Bates was a safety choice.

New York Giants, who led Saquon Barkley back, was the third NFL rookie to have over 2,000 scrimmage yards in one season and set the NFL rookie record for most receptions by a return. He was selected as the offensive rookie of the year 2018.

Indianapolis Colts linebacker Darius Leonard, who led all rookies in aggregate and was bagged by a rookie in second, was voted Defensive Rookie of the Year 2018 by the PFWA.

Mayfield, the first overall selection in the 2018 NFL Draft after a Heisman Trophy-winning season in Oklahoma, completed 310 of 486 passes (63.8 percent) for a Browns rookie record of 3,725 yards, sixth in NFL history and 27 TDs. He was the third player in NFL history to throw at least one touchdown pass in his first 10 starts. He finished the season with TD passes in the last 13 games of the Browns and nine multi-TD passport competitions. He took the first quarterback job in Week 4, and he led all 2018 NFL rookies in passing yards, touchdown, completion level and passer rating (93.7). He was the AFC offensive player of the Week for Week 16 and the offensive rookie of the NFL for November. Mayfield threw for a Browns rookie singles match record of 397 yards and a TD in Houston in week 13, with 351 yards passing in the second half alone as he was the first NFL QB since 2012 to do the trick. He threw four TDs at Cincinnati in Week 12 to set up a Browns rookie record, completing a TD with four different receivers.

Barkley, the second-overall pick in the 2018 NFL Draft from Penn State, rushed 261 times for 1,307 yards and 11 touchdowns. He also received 91 passes for 721 yards and nine TDs. His 2,028 scrimmage yards are the third of all times for an NFL freshman. Barkley led the league in scrimmage yards and finished second in the NFL in Rushing Yards (1,307), both franchise records for first year players. He also set the Giants rookie record as he rushed with 11 touchdowns, and his 15 combined Rushing and Receive TDs were tied for third place in the NFL. His 14 receptions in the second week in Dallas were tied in fourth place in the NFL single-player story by a return. Barkley had seven runs of 40+ yards and six runs of 50+ yards, leading the NFL in each category. He was the first NFL rookie with at least 1,200 rushing yards and 600 yards received since Detroit Billy Sims in 1980. Barkley was the week's NFC offensive player for Week 11.

Leonard, a second round (# 36 overall) from the state of South Carolina, finished second to a rookie with seven NFL victories in the NFL and he led the league in both the overall tackles (163) and the solo Stops (111). , Leonard has posted seven games with 10 or more tackles, which is considered the NFL's leader in the category. His total of 163 tackles were the third of all times since the AFL-NFL merger of 1970. He also led all rookies in forced fights and won the sixth place overall with four in the NFL. For September, he was named the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Month and twice the AFC Defensive Player of the Week (Week 2, Week 17).

Mayfield is the first Browns player to win the PFWA's Rookie of the Year. Barkley is the second Giants player to have been selected for the Offensive Rookie of the Year. In 2014, he joined Odell Beckham Jr. Leonard is the second player in Colts history to be named Defensive Rookie of the Year. In 1983 he joined the linebacker Vernon Maxwell.

The Colts led all clubs with three all-rookie selections, with guards Quenton Nelson, Braden Smith and Leonard. The Arizona Cardinals, Browns, Bengals, Denver Broncos and Giants each had two choices. A total of 20 clubs are represented among the 27 revered players.

2018 ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: QB Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns

Offensive rookie of the year 2018: RB Saquon Barkley, New York Giants

DEFENSIVE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR 2018: LB Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts



  • QB – Baker Mayfield, Cleveland Browns
  • RB – Saquon Barkley, New York Giants; Phillip Lindsay, Denver Broncos
  • WR – Calvin Ridley, Atlanta Falcons; DJ Moore, Carolina Panthers
  • TE – Chris Herndon, New York Jets
  • C – Billy Price, Bengals
  • G – Will Hernandez, New York Giants; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
  • T – Mike McGlinchey, San Francisco 49ers; Braden Smith, Indianapolis Colts


  • DL – Bradley Chubb, Denver Broncos; Marcus Davenport, New Orleans Saints; Da & # 39; Shawn Hand, Detroit Lions; Daron Payne, Washington Redskins
  • LB – Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts; Roquan Smith, Chicago Bears; Leighton Vander Esch, Dallas Cowboys
  • CB – Jaire Alexander, Green Bay Packers, Denzel Ward, Cleveland Browns
  • S – Jessie Bates, Bengals; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers


  • PK – Jason Sanders, Miami Dolphins
  • P – Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks
  • KR – Tremon Smith, Kansas City Chiefs
  • PR – Christian Kirk, Arizona Cardinals
  • ST – Zeke Turner, Arizona Cardinals


1966 – MLB Tommy Nobis, Atlanta Falcons; 1967-75 – no selection; 1976 – WR Sammy White, Minnesota Vikings; 1977 – RB Tony Dorsett, Dallas Cowboys; 1978 – RB Earl Campbell, Houston Oilers; 1979 – RB Ottis Anderson, St. Louis Cardinals; 1980 – RB Billy Sims, Detroit Lions; 1981 – RB George Rogers, New Orleans Saints; 1982 – RB Marcus Allen, Los Angeles Raiders; 1983 – RB Eric Dickerson, Los Angeles Rams; 1984 – WR / KR Louis Lipps, Pittsburgh Steelers; 1985 – WR Eddie Brown, Bengals; 1986 – RB Rueben Mayes, New Orleans Saints; 1987 – ILB Shane Conlan, Buffalo Bills; 1988 – RB John Stephens, Patriots from New England; 1990 – S Mark Carrier, Chicago Bears; 1991 – OLB Mike Croel, Denver Broncos; 1992-2012 – no selection; 2013 – RB Eddie Lacy, Green Bay Packers; 2014 – WR Odell Beckham, Jr., New York Giants; 2015 – RB Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams; 2016 – RB Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys; 2017 – RB Kareem Hunt, Kansas City Chiefs.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Must Read

European election live blog: Gauland declared Green to be the "main enemy" for the AfD

+++ JU boss Kuban: "Slap in the face" +++ Gauland declared Green to be the "main enemy" for the AfD +++ SPÖ and FPÖ...

Leclerc's unheard radio messages to Monaco breakdown

Charles Leclerc's unresolved radio messages during the closing stages of his Monaco Grand Prix paint a picture of frustration and concern. Leclerc had a...

Game of Thrones: Highlights of The Last Watch's Documentary

LOS ANGELES ( - HBO has given the fans a long farewell look at the making of game of Thrones on...