Watch: Black Caps legspinner Ish Sodhi’s spectacular caught and bowled v India

There weren’t a lot of highlights from the Black Caps in their 3-0 T20 series defeat by India.

But legspinner Ish Sodhi did grab some of the spotlight with his sensational one-handed caught-and-bowled dismissal of Rohit Sharma in NZ’s 73-run loss in Kolkata on Monday morning (NZ time).

The Indian captain had brought up his 50 in the previous over with the hosts batting first and may have been thinking about a rare T20I century when he tried to hit a full delivery back past the bowler.

Ish Sodhi takes a brilliant return catch in the third T20 against India.

Screenshot/Sky TV

Ish Sodhi takes a brilliant return catch in the third T20 against India.

However, he didn’t connect fully and while the ball still looked to be speeding past the bowler, Sodhi stuck out his right hand and grabbed the catch as umpire Virender Sharma took evasive action behind him.

READ MORE:
* Black Caps vs India: Hosts power to series victory in Twenty20 game two in Ranchi
* Kane Williamson to miss Black Caps vs India T20 series, Tim Southee to captain
* Ish Sodhi out to cap the best year of his Black Caps career with a T20 World Cup final win

It was Sodhi’s only wicket of the innings as India made 184-7 batting first, with NZ being dismissed for a paltry 111 in the 18th over in reply.

The first game of the two-test series between the sides starts in Kanpur on Thursday.

See also  Filtered audios of Florentino Pérez on Cristiano Ronaldo