Seven former 49ers were announced on Thursday among the 102 Modern-era nominees for the 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame class.

The list includes Jeff Garcia joining four other quarterbacks – Randall Cunningham, Dave Krieg, Donovan McNabb and Steve McNair – to be nominated. Garcia, currently an analyst NBC Sports Bay Area, was a four-time Pro Bowl selection in his 11-year NFL career. He was selected to Pro Bowl for three consecutive seasons with the 49ers (2000-2002). Garcia is the last 49ers quarterback to earn a trip to the Pro Bowl.

The other former 49ers nominated for the Hall of Fame are Ricky Watters, wide receiver Isaac Bruce, close Brent Jones, defensive lineman Bryant Young, linebacker Takeo Spikes, and safety Tim McDonald.

San Francisco general manager John Lynch, a nine-time Pro Bowl player with Tampa Bay and Denver in his 15-year career, returns as a candidate. He has been a finalist in the top 15 in the last five years.

Among the nominees there are four candidates for the first year: tight end Tony Gonzalez, linebacker London Fletcher, Corner Champ Bailey and security Ed Reed.

Former Roger Craig, more than 25 years away from his NFL career, is no longer a finalist in the modern era.

The list of nominees of the modern era will be reduced to 25 semi-finalists in November. In January, the list will be reduced to 15 finalists.

The 48-member selection committee will consider 18 finalists as one of four to eight people elected to the Hall of Fame during a meeting prior to Super Bowl 53 in Atlanta. Finalists Johnny Robinson and finalists Pat Bowlen and Gil Brandt will be among the 15 finalists of the modern era.

Modern Era candidates

* Finalist in 2018; (Players and coaches must have played or coached for at least five full seasons to qualify for the nomination, so any player who last played or trained in 2013 may attend for the first time in 2019).

QUARTERBACKS (5) – Randall Cunningham, Dave Krieg, Jeff Garcia, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair

RUNNING BACKS (14) – Shaun Alexander, Tiki Barber, Earnest Byner, Larry Centers, Corey Dillon, Eddie George, Edgerrin James, Darryl Johnston, Eric Metcalf (WR / KR / PR), Clinton Portis, Fred Taylor, Herschel Walker (also KR), Chris Warren, Ricky Watters

WIDE RECEIVERS (9) – * Isaac Bruce, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard (also PR), Torry Holt, Chad Johnson, Derrick Mason, Sterling Sharpe, Rod Smith, Hines Ward

Tight ends (4) – Mark Bavaro, Tony Gonzales, Brent Jones, Jay Novacek

OFFENSIVE LINES (15) – Willie Anderson (T), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Ray Donaldson (C), Alan Faneca (G), Chris Hinton (G / T), Kent Hull (C), * Steve Hutchinson (G) , Mike Kenn (T), Olin Kreutz (C), Kevin Mawae (C / G), Tom Nalen (C), Chris Samuels (T), Richmond Webb (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)

DEFENSIVE LINES (7) – La & # 0; Roi Glover (DT / NT), Russell Maryland (DT), Leslie O'Neal (DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Richard Seymour (DT), Neil Smith (DE), Bryant Young (DT )

LINEBACKER (14) – Carl Banks, Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, London Fletcher, Seth Joyner, Wilber Marshall, Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE), Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Chris Spielman, Takeo Spikes, Darryl Talley, Zach Thomas

DEFENSIVE BACKS (18) – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Champ Bailey (CB), Ronde Barber (CB / S), Bill Bates (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Nick Collins (S), Thomas Everett (S), Rodney Harrison (S), * Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), * John Lynch (S), Tim McDonald (S), Ed Reed (FS), Dennis Smith (S), Troy Vincent (CB), Adrian Wilson (S), Darren Woodson (S)

PUNTER / KICKER (3) – Jason Elam (K), Jeff Feagles (P), Sean Landeta (P)

SPECIAL TEAMS (2) – Brian Mitchell (KR / PR also RB), Steve Tasker (ST also WR)

Trainer (11) – Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jim Hanifan, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.